Entertainment Musings

All the updates on the latest in Enterainment News, Movies, Television and DVDs.

Musing Review: The Dark Knight

with 3 comments

I think it’s easy to say that The Dark Knight will be the most successful film this summer, and it earns all the praise it’s received…

Heath Ledger’s Joker is absolutely horrifying, and it’s a shame he isn’t around to see his finished product. Ledger’s Jo…(read more) ker makes Jack Nicholson’s look like a Saturday morning cartoon…..there’s no comparison anymore. This is how the Joker was meant to be seen.

Overall, this had a different feel from Batman Begins, and that’s OK. It’s a sequel…there’s no origin story here.

At just over 2.5 hrs, it did seem like there were some opportunities to shave the run-time a little….but, the extra time leaves you looking forward to the next scene that has the Joker in it…..

And I just saw this on another site, and have to say, once you see this, you’ll absolutely never forget the Joker’s magic trick….

Can’t wait to see this in IMAX!  After thinking over it all day, I’m starting to realize how epic, amazing, awesome and fun this movie was to experience.

Now, if if manages to break Spidey 3’s record at the box-office, I’ll be one happy camper…BustedTees would totally have to make a shirt for that occasion, and I’d buy it, no questions asked.

Written by flutieman07

July 18, 2008 at 11:52 pm

Posted in News

Tagged with , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve seen quite a few posts around that talk about the run time, and I honestly didn’t notice it a bit. I was so engrossed in the whole feel, look, story, and sensation of the film, that the only thing that told me it was 2.5 hours was my bladder.

    If you could have cut, where would you have cut? Was there a particular scene that you think could have been trimmed?

    nopopcornlargesoda

    July 24, 2008 at 5:23 pm

  2. After seeing it a second time in IMAX, I didn’t notice the run time as much either….There really isn’t any place that a significant chunk could have been taken out like I had originally thought.

    If anything, I’m actually kind of interested in a director’s/extended cut….

    flutieman07

    July 26, 2008 at 11:58 pm

  3. Ok, I might be the last person in the english speaking world to see the movie, but I saw it (FINALLY) last night…a few thoughts.

    Heath Ledger – AMAZING. Award winner…for sure. The only time I really thought to myself “That is HL” was when he was sitting in jail and the makeup was kind of partially off….otherwise I was totally and completely invested in his role.

    Gary Oldman does deserve more credit. His role was huge. And he did an amazing job of keeping it honest. I have to admit, even I got faked out and thought he was dead! Did anyone else think that maybe his kid will take the role of Batman when Bruce Wayne eventually steps down? For some reason I thought about that.

    One of the most intriguing things I found in this movie instead of the other one was the idea of the “heart of society.” Would you kill the boat full of prisoners? Would they kill the civilians? How good is the heart of society? The heart of the average person? It was a interesting idea.

    Two Questions I still have:
    Is the storyline based off of the comics at all, or is the writing fully the Nolans? I am not a big reader of the comics, but it always interests me to know if they are sticking to the stories of the original writers, or if it is basically just the characters that are from the beginning.

    I was always under the impression that Gotham City was based off of New York City. If that is true, why did they choose Chicago as the site? Don’t get me wrong, I love Chicago and I think it fit really well with the movie. NYC is getting a bit overdone in the movie world…were they just looking for a change?

    annieinmn

    August 5, 2008 at 3:20 pm


Leave a Reply

