Entertainment Musings

All the updates on the latest in Enterainment News, Movies, Television and DVDs.

Looking Forward: Mario Kart Wii

leave a comment »

I’ve decided to combine Wii news into my “Entertainment Musings”, because I suppose it really does count as entertainment. In the last month or so, there’s been a huge release of info on the latest incarnation of Mario Kart for the Nintendo Wii and, needless to say, I’m pretty darn excited about it. Here’s why.

1) No more two-person carts

Don’t get me wrong, to keep the series fresh, Double Dash on Gamecube added the two-person cart scheme. It never really grew on me. Since when did they need another person to throw your items for you? It worked with single player karts in the first two versions….Why not stick to what works. I see reasons how it might have been cool, but in the end, it wasn’t what the series needed. Also, it allowed for more characters to show up (at least, I’m pretty sure there were more)….Still, it was something that always bothered me.

Mario Kart Wii goes back to single karts, while still maintaining a large roster of Nintendo mascots. They’ve released the starting roster, but have also mentioned that there will be a bunch of unlockable characters….Personally, I’m rooting for Toadette to show up….I’m also guessing we’ll see appearances by Bowser Jr., possibly Toadsworth….Hey….anything is possible.

2) New maps….(And some old ones too!)

Nintendo has already announced that Mario Kart Wii will boast 32 total racetracks….Of these 32, 16 will be brand new and the other 16 will be upgraded versions from previous Mario Kart games. There are also going to be 10 battle stages, and again some will be remakes, some brand new (I’m checking on the split….probably half and half).

This is a good move by Nintendo, as long as they pick the right maps to remake. For people like me, who grew up playing the SNES version, seeing some of those tracks again is probably going to be a real treat. Also, recently on an episode of G4’s XPlay, I saw that they are remaking the battle map we used to play on all the time in the SNES version. It didn’t have a name, but it was square, with colored blocks forming lanes that ran around the entire stage, with breaks every so often….Trust me, if you played the SNES version, you know this map.

Previews of some of the new maps look quite promising as well. It does seem as they’ve really opened up the maps a bit, with wider lanes, and, leading to my next topic…..

3) Tricks!

This one isn’t as potentially exciting as it could be, because the tricks you’ll be doing in Mario Kart are the “push a button and it happens no matter what” type tricks. This isn’t Tony Hawk, so they’ll probably be predetermined tricks….there may not be that many either. Honestly, I guess I wouldn’t want to have to learn how to do a bunch of fancy tricks too, but I’m guessing there will be no more than a couple of tricks, that are all the same for each character. I’ll reserve final judgement until I get my hands on the game….still, this adds some new flair to the old maps. It may even force racers to rethink strategies on old maps, because landing the tricks get you a good boost.

4) The Wii Wheel

Packaged with every copy of Mario Kart Wii will be the newest Wii-mote shell, the Wii Wheel. Initially I was worried about the wheel, but, as early reviews have suggested, it may not be as horrible as I expected.

Even so, the game will follow in the footsteps of Super Smash Bros. Brawl, and allow you to plug in either a Gamecube or Classic controller in addition to the Wii-mote combinations. I’m probably going to default to either the Gamecube or Classic scheme….but all the options will be worth a test-drive.

5) Karts AND Motorcycles

Did I mention there’s also going to be motorcycles in addition to karts?!  This is pretty cool, and the next logical step for the franchise.  Bikes will probably be a tad faster, and you can pop wheelies…helpful because you get a boost.  I personally am excited to see what kind of dynamic this creates in kart-bike intermixed races.  It should be interesting….to say the very least.

There’s just a few reasons I’m looking forward to this one.  Mario Kart Wii releases on April 27th, 2008.  It’s another Sunday release, and comes just a couple months after Brawl, and weeks before another surefire hit, Wii Fit.

It’s going to be a good next few months for the Wii!

Written by flutieman07

March 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

Posted in News, Nintendo

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

