Entertainment Musings

All the updates on the latest in Enterainment News, Movies, Television and DVDs.

Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

with 2 comments

You must know, first of all, that the Harry Potter films have become some of my favorites of all-time. Sure, they’ve completely changed over the course of the last 3, but it is the first one that got me hooked, and started me into the books. I still remember the days where I thought Harry Potter was stupid and couldn’t believe it was so popular. Man, have things changed.

Going into Order of the Phoenix, I was a little wary, but still very excited for another Potter film. Reviews had been iffy, and I wasn’t sure they’d pull off a decent picture after having to cut out so much stuff from the book.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I left the theatre with a grin after seeing this the other night (at a midnight screening, the only way to truly enjoy a Harry Potter film). New director David Yates and the screenwriter Michael Goldenberg have pulled off not only an amazing and awesome Harry Potter film, but in general an awesome and amazing real film.

First of all, the series continues to plunge into even darker territories, and it’s not necessarily a bad thing. The cinematography just adds to the intensity of some of the coolest scenes. In particular, the design and filming of the films epic conclusion is breathtaking. All those who complain the film’s resolution is too short may not have been paying attention to all the actions going on in the background. Never have we seen such dueling in a Potter film, and I seriously think it was great to see so many wizards at the same time.

New characters also make some great performances this time around….Honestly, you’d think Imelda Staunton had played the character of Umbridge for years before this. She’s a perfect fit for the role, and I honestly felt like they had taken the Umbridge from the book and cast her in this movie. She was brilliant…. Also, Luna Lovegood, a character I thoroughly enjoyed in the book as well, makes the transition to the screen, and they got a spot-on performance from Evanna Lynch. All her quirks and weird actions were exactly how I pictured them while reading the book.

One other thing to mention is how well the acting has improved. All three of the trio have improved leaps and bounds over the course of the films. You really feel like they were made to play these characters, and it makes the fantasy-driven adventures all that much easier to seem real. I’m glad to know that all three will be back for the final two films…..It’d be movie-making suicide to let any one of the three slip through their fingers.

I’ll always have a place for action films at the top of my “Best Movies Ever” list, but it’s time for a change in the ranks. After having such a great time at this film, it’s easily become my favorite of all-time…Best of the summer so far if you ask me.

If you’re looking for a great time, even not as a Potter fan, I recommend you give this one a try. If you haven’t read the books, you may want to pull up a Wikipedia quick history to get caught up…just don’t get into spoilers, because you’ll definitely be tempted seeing as all 7 books will be discussed in great detail in the coming weeks.

It’s got the humor, the action, the drama, and the suspense anyone needs to enjoy a day at the movies…..I give it an A+.

Written by flutieman07

July 12, 2007 at 9:27 am

Posted in Movies, News

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree! The end was the best, although I was a little disappointed that they hopped right to the prophecy room, but nearly everything was on the spot! I had a huge grin on my face as soon as I saw the fountain in the ministry of magic. Anyways, how many different directors have there been for the Harry Potter movies?

    vanessarocks

    July 12, 2007 at 12:22 pm

  2. There’s been 4…Chris Columbus on the first two, Alfonso Cuaron on the third, Mike Newell the fourth, and now David Yates for the 5th and 6th.

    I’m guessing the last will be a “team” effort.

    flutieman07

    July 12, 2007 at 2:52 pm


Leave a Reply

